The grinding shape of a diamond is the shape in which the rough diamond is sharpened before the diamond is processed in a jewel. There are many different forms in which a diamond is sharpened. The most famous grinding shapes are, for example, the Brilliant, Princess, Emerald and Hearts & Arrows.

The value of a diamond is determined on the basis of four factors, the 4Cs:

  1. Cut (grinding shape)
  2. Color (color)
  3. Clarity (brightness)
  4. Caratweight (carat weight)

Of these 4Cs, the grinding shape is the only factor that people can influence. It requires craftsmanship and even mathematics to transform a rough diamond into a sharpened diamond. For example, the diamond cutter has to deal with perfect proportions, finish and symmetry. This is important because these factors determine the sparkle and the "fire" (the refraction and reflection of the light of the diamond).

What types of sharpening shapes are there

Sizes Characteristics
Brilliant Also called 'De Ronde Diamant': the most famous and most popular grinding shape with 57 facets. With its exceptional sparkle and modern, timeless appearance, this shape can be seen multi -loving rings and other jewelry.
Princess Specially designed to get a maximum sparkle from a square shape. A Princess Diamant consists of 76 facets. Due to the traditional appearance with a modern twist, this grinding shape is also often used in engagement rings. Beautiful for the modern-day Royalty!
Hearts & Arrows One in the million diamonds can be selected as Hearts & Arrows Diamant. The diamond is perfectly sharpened and the proportion and symmetry are unmistakable. Under a special magnifier, a pattern of hearts and arrows becomes visible in the diamond.